Veterans for Responsible Leadership — 2020 Endorsements

This post is updated as new endorsements are made. Read our Statement on 2020 Endorsements here.

October 11 Update — This first slate comprises incumbent veterans of the US military, DOD and intelligence services. These Senators and Congresspeople represent the best of leadership and service to our nation. VFRL is proud to endorse each of them for reelection.

Senator Gary Peters — Michigan, US Senate

Congressman Anthony Brown — MD-4, US House

Congressman Chip Coldiron — IN-3, US House

Congresswoman Chrissy Houlahan — PA-6, US House

Congressman Ted Lieu — CA-33, US House

Congresswoman Elaine Luria — VA-2, US House

Congressman Seth Moulton — MA-6, US House

Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill — NJ-11, US House

Congresswoman Elissa Slotkin — MI-8, US House

Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger — VA-7, US House

October 12 Update — Non-incumbent military Veterans comprise VFRL’s second slate of endorsements. Each of these candidates served with distinction and possesses the qualities of leaders needed for this moment: moving past Trumpism and rebuilding our national leadership and democratic institutions. In many cases, these candidates are challenging a chief Trump enabler (Gaetz, McConnell, McSally) whose defeat is essential to excising Trumpism and restoring principled leadership to the Congress. VFRL is proud to support these candidates and wishes them success in the upcoming election, our country needs them.

MJ Hegar — Texas, US Senate

Mark Kelly — Arizona, US Senate

Amy McGrath — Kentucky, US Senate

Phil Ehr — FL-1, US House

Pam Keith — FL-18, US House

October 15 Update — These candidates endorsed by VFRL are not Veterans themselves, and some are even facing off against Veteran incumbents and challengers. At VFRL, we recognize that the experience of wearing a uniform is not the most important qualification for elected office, and, unfortunately, it is often not sufficient to ensure faithful representation and service to the American people. Yet, each of these men and women have demonstrated the fitness and qualities we need in our leaders to help guide us in these tumultuous times, and we encourage our members and their constituents to give them their full support.

Congressman Antonio Delgado — NY-19, US House

Theresa Greenfield — Iowa, US Senate

Dr. Al Gross — Alaska, US Senate

Jamie Harrison — South Carolina, US Senate

Sima Ladjevardian — TX-2, US House

Senator Ed Markey — Massachusetts, US Senate

It is worth noting that almost all of these candidates’ opponents — Senator Joni Ernst, Senator Lindsey Graham, Senator Dan Sullivan, Congressman Dan Crenshaw, and Kyle Van De Water— are disappointingly, all Veterans and yet are among the worst Trump enablers (or, in Van De Water’s case, enabler-hopeful) who have either genuinely embraced Trumpism or chosen short-term political calculations over their constituents and the American people. As Veterans for Responsible Leadership, our greatest disdain is reserved for these men and women who disregard their oaths, and we encourage you to support their challengers and vote them out.

October 20 Update — These candidates are Veterans, non-veterans, incumbent, and non-incumbent candidates for the US House. All have in common a commitment to the American people, our democratic values and institutions, and principled national leadership.

Sanford Bishop Jr — GA-2, US House

Julia Brownley — CA-26, US House

G.K. Butterfield — NC-1, US House

Joyce Elliott — AR-2, US House

Peter Defazio — OR-4, US House

Margaret Good — FL-16, US House

Conor Lamb — PA-17, US House

Ray Lenzi — IL-12, US House

Rashad Lewis — TX-36, US House

William Marx — PA-14, US House

Bill Pascrell — NJ-9, US House

Collin Peterson — MN-7, US House

Mike Thompson — CA-5, US House

October 22 Update — These Veterans are incumbent and non-incumbent candidates for national offices. Each one of these candidates has demonstrated a dedication to service and the qualities we need in our leaders as we work to restore our national leadership and democratic institutions.

Jason Crow — CO-6, US House

Moe Davis — NC-11, US House

Jim Kennedy — FL-08, US House

Adrian Perkins — LA, US Senate

Jimmy Panetta — CA-20, US House

Max Rose — NY-11, US House

Jack Reed — RI, US Senate

These Veteran and non-Veteran non-incumbent candidates for state offices represent the best of the next generation of elected state officials.

Michelle Hinchey — NY-46, State Senate

Andrew Learned — FL-59, State House

Joanna Mendoza — AZ-11, State Senate

Josh Remillard — NC-117, State House (October 27 update)

Nick Milroy — WI-73, Wisconsin State Assembly (October 31 update)

Upholding our Constitutional oaths & supporting American democracy and the rule of law. Taking to task those who don’t, regardless of party or position.